Staff experts

To connect with these and other staff experts please contact Amy Kober or call 503-708-1145.

Press Releases

Below are the latest press releases. You can filter by issue or region to find information of interest.

Filter Results:

Boundary Waters named among America’s Most Endangered Rivers

Copper mining threatens clean water, local economy, cultural values Contacts: Jessie Thomas-Blate, American Rivers, jthomas@americanrivers.org, (609) 658-4769 Jeremy Drucker, Save the Boundary Waters, jeremy@savetheboundarywaters.org, (612) 670-9650 Jen Parravani, The Wilderness Society, jparravani@tws.org, (202) 601-1931 Tania Lown-Hecht, Outdoor Alliance, tania@outdooralliance.org, (202) 780-9650 Brett Mayer, American Canoe Association, bmayer@americancanoe.org, (434) 409-9026... Read More

Lower Missouri River named among America’s Most Endangered Rivers

Poor flood management threatens public safety Contacts: Eileen Shader, American Rivers, 570-856-1128, eshader@americanrivers.org Paul Lepisto, Izaak Walton League of America, 605-224-1770, plepisto@iwla.orgGeorge Cunningham, Sierra Club Nebraska, 402-669-2236, cunningham.geo@gmail.comCaroline Pufalt, Missouri River Network, Sierra Club, 314-721-7207, carolinepufalt@gmail.comRachel Bartels, Missouri Confluence Waterkeeper, 314-884-1473, rachel@mowaterkeeper.org Washington, D.C. – American Rivers today named... Read More

Snake River named America’s Most Endangered River for 2021

Salmon recovery action must be part of national infrastructure investment April 13, 2021  Contact: Amy Souers Kober, American Rivers, 503-708-1145, akober@americanrivers.orgRein Atteman, Washington Environmental Council, 206-631-2625, rein@wecprotects.org Washington, D.C. – American Rivers today named the Snake River America’s #1 Most Endangered River of 2021, pointing to perilously low returns... Read More

Supreme Court ruling provides opportunity to seek solutions to water conflict

American Rivers statement on Florida v. Georgia case Contact:Ben Emanuel, 706-340-8868Amy Souers Kober, 503-708-1145 Atlanta – The ruling by the U.S. Supreme Court in the case concerning water management in Alabama, Georgia and Florida’s Apalachicola-Chattahoochee-Flint River Basin provides an opportunity for a new chapter of collaborative, sustainable solutions, American... Read More

American Rivers applauds Michael Regan on confirmation as EPA Administrator

March 10, 2021Contact: Amy Souers Kober, 503-708-1145 Tom Kiernan, President of American Rivers, released the following statement today in response to the Senate’s confirmation of Michael Regan as Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency:   “Michael Regan is a champion for clean water, climate solutions and environmental justice, and we applaud... Read More

69 dams removed in 2020, reconnecting 624 miles of rivers nationwide

Dam Removal
Increased federal investment in dam removal, river restoration would boost economy, benefit communities   February 18, 2021 Contact: Amy Souers Kober, 503-708-1145  (Washington) –  Sixty-nine dams were removed in 2020, revitalizing local economies and communities and restoring fish, wildlife and river health. Communities in 23 states, working in partnership with non-profit... Read More

American Rivers announces Tom Kiernan as CEO

Leader with decades of state and federal conservation experience to take the helm of nation’s premier river conservation organization. February 11, 2021Contact: Amy Kober, 503-708-1145 American Rivers has named Tom Kiernan, former CEO of the American Wind Energy Association (AWEA) and former President of the National Parks Conservation Association... Read More

Congressman Mike Simpson announces groundbreaking framework to restore Northwest salmon, bolster economy

February 7, 2021 Contact: Amy Kober, 503-708-1145  Congressman Mike Simpson (R-ID) today announced a bold and potentially transformational proposal to revitalize the rivers and economy of the Pacific Northwest. The $33.5 billion package of immediate infrastructure investments would advance salmon recovery, clean energy, agriculture and create jobs and economic opportunity... Read More