Staff experts

To connect with these and other staff experts please contact Amy Kober or call 503-708-1145.

Press Releases

Below are the latest press releases. You can filter by issue or region to find information of interest.

Filter Results:

California’s McCloud River Named One of America’s Most Endangered Rivers

Proposed raising of Shasta Dam threatens Indigenous culture and ecological health Contacts:Amy Merrill, American Rivers, 510-809-8010, amerrill@americanrivers.orgGary Mulcahy, Winnemem Wintu Tribe, 916-214-8493, gary@ranchriver.comRon Stork, Friends of the River, 916-442-3155 X220, rstork@friendsoftheriver.org Washington, D.C. – American Rivers today named Northern California’s McCloud River among America’s Most Endangered Rivers® of 2021... Read More

Tar Creek named among America’s Most Endangered Rivers

Toxic pollution threatens public health Contacts:Jessie Thomas-Blate, American Rivers, 609-658-4769, jthomas@americanrivers.orgRebecca Jim, Local Environmental Action Demanded (LEAD) Agency, 918-520-6720, leadagency@att.net  Dr. Bob Nairn, Center for Restoration of Ecosystems and Watersheds, University of Oklahoma, 405-325-3354, nairn@ou.eduAlexis Hidalgo, Anthropocene Alliance, 305-781-5147, Alexis@AnthropoceneAlliance.org     Washington, D.C. – American Rivers today named Tar... Read More

Pecos River named among America’s Most Endangered Rivers

Mining threatens clean water, cultural values Contacts:Sinjin Eberle, American Rivers, 720-373-0864, seberle@americanrivers.orgFrank “Pancho” Adelo, Upper Pecos Watershed Association, 505-757-3600, upwa@pecoswatershed.orgRalph Vigil, NM Acequia Commission & Local Organic Farmer, 505-603-2879, molinodelaisla@gmail.comJoseph “Brophy” Toledo, Jemez/Pecos Pueblo, 505-382-9589, facebroz@gmail.com Washington, D.C. – American Rivers today named the Pecos River among America’s Most... Read More

South River named among America’s Most Endangered Rivers

Sewage pollution threatens public health, perpetuates injustice April 13, 2021 Contacts:   Ben Emanuel, American Rivers, 706-340-8868, bemanuel@americanrivers.orgJackie Echols, South River Watershed Alliance, 404-285-3756, southriverwatershedalliance@gmail.com Revonda Cosby, Arabia Mountain Heritage Area Alliance, 404-561-3323, revonda@arabiaalliance.org  Marlena Reed, The Nature Conservancy, 404-253-7246, marlena.reed@tnc.org Brionte´ McCorkle, Georgia Conservation Voters, 404-333-8784, brionte@gcvoters.org Jason Dozier, Intrenchment Creek Community... Read More

Boundary Waters named among America’s Most Endangered Rivers

Copper mining threatens clean water, local economy, cultural values Contacts: Jessie Thomas-Blate, American Rivers, jthomas@americanrivers.org, (609) 658-4769 Jeremy Drucker, Save the Boundary Waters, jeremy@savetheboundarywaters.org, (612) 670-9650 Jen Parravani, The Wilderness Society, jparravani@tws.org, (202) 601-1931 Tania Lown-Hecht, Outdoor Alliance, tania@outdooralliance.org, (202) 780-9650 Brett Mayer, American Canoe Association, bmayer@americancanoe.org, (434) 409-9026... Read More

Lower Missouri River named among America’s Most Endangered Rivers

Poor flood management threatens public safety Contacts: Eileen Shader, American Rivers, 570-856-1128, eshader@americanrivers.org Paul Lepisto, Izaak Walton League of America, 605-224-1770, plepisto@iwla.orgGeorge Cunningham, Sierra Club Nebraska, 402-669-2236, cunningham.geo@gmail.comCaroline Pufalt, Missouri River Network, Sierra Club, 314-721-7207, carolinepufalt@gmail.comRachel Bartels, Missouri Confluence Waterkeeper, 314-884-1473, rachel@mowaterkeeper.org Washington, D.C. – American Rivers today named... Read More

Snake River named America’s Most Endangered River for 2021

Salmon recovery action must be part of national infrastructure investment April 13, 2021  Contact: Amy Souers Kober, American Rivers, 503-708-1145, akober@americanrivers.orgRein Atteman, Washington Environmental Council, 206-631-2625, rein@wecprotects.org Washington, D.C. – American Rivers today named the Snake River America’s #1 Most Endangered River of 2021, pointing to perilously low returns... Read More

Supreme Court ruling provides opportunity to seek solutions to water conflict

American Rivers statement on Florida v. Georgia case Contact:Ben Emanuel, 706-340-8868Amy Souers Kober, 503-708-1145 Atlanta – The ruling by the U.S. Supreme Court in the case concerning water management in Alabama, Georgia and Florida’s Apalachicola-Chattahoochee-Flint River Basin provides an opportunity for a new chapter of collaborative, sustainable solutions, American... Read More

American Rivers applauds Michael Regan on confirmation as EPA Administrator

March 10, 2021Contact: Amy Souers Kober, 503-708-1145 Tom Kiernan, President of American Rivers, released the following statement today in response to the Senate’s confirmation of Michael Regan as Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency:   “Michael Regan is a champion for clean water, climate solutions and environmental justice, and we applaud... Read More